Techno Blender
Digitally Yours.

What’s in it for users

0 24


Google is making it easy for users to quickly find files in Drive. The company has introduced a series of changes, including a new streamlined homepage for Drive called Home that will make “it easier and faster for you to find files that matter most.”

Three main updates
There are three main changes: personalised file and folder suggestions, filter chips, and a new look based on Google Material Design 3.

Users will get personalised file and folder suggestions with machine learning algorithms.

“These suggestions utilise a variety of signals, such as what files or folders you’ve recently opened, shared or edited, or what documents are attached to upcoming Calendar events,” Google said.

Filter chips will narrow down the search and find relevant files faster across Drive. Google also said that when users go to drive.google.com, instead of landing in ‘My Drive’, they will be directed to ‘Home.’

Who’s impacted, availability
End users will be impacted by the update. This feature will be ON by default and can be opted out by the user. If a user chooses to opt out, their default page will be My Drive.

If users wish to set their default to ‘My Drive,’ click on the “Change to My Drive” option in the banner on Home: “Change to My Drive”

The rollout for Rapid Release domains has already started and Scheduled Release domains will start getting the feature from January 11. The new design will be available to all Google Workspace customers and users with personal Google Accounts.

The development comes a month after Google launched a new view in Google Drive that shows all pending access requests, recent comments, and approvals for files to help you quickly see recent activity and take action, in one place.

FacebookTwitterLinkedin



end of article


Google has new homepage view in Drive: What's in it for users

Google is making it easy for users to quickly find files in Drive. The company has introduced a series of changes, including a new streamlined homepage for Drive called Home that will make “it easier and faster for you to find files that matter most.”

Three main updates
There are three main changes: personalised file and folder suggestions, filter chips, and a new look based on Google Material Design 3.

Users will get personalised file and folder suggestions with machine learning algorithms.

“These suggestions utilise a variety of signals, such as what files or folders you’ve recently opened, shared or edited, or what documents are attached to upcoming Calendar events,” Google said.

Filter chips will narrow down the search and find relevant files faster across Drive. Google also said that when users go to drive.google.com, instead of landing in ‘My Drive’, they will be directed to ‘Home.’

Who’s impacted, availability
End users will be impacted by the update. This feature will be ON by default and can be opted out by the user. If a user chooses to opt out, their default page will be My Drive.

If users wish to set their default to ‘My Drive,’ click on the “Change to My Drive” option in the banner on Home: “Change to My Drive”

The rollout for Rapid Release domains has already started and Scheduled Release domains will start getting the feature from January 11. The new design will be available to all Google Workspace customers and users with personal Google Accounts.

The development comes a month after Google launched a new view in Google Drive that shows all pending access requests, recent comments, and approvals for files to help you quickly see recent activity and take action, in one place.

FacebookTwitterLinkedin



end of article

FOLLOW US ON GOOGLE NEWS

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Techno Blender is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment